Sunday, November 30, 2008

 

Dion - Canada's New Prime Minister?

In an interesting twist of affairs, it looks like there's atleast a 60% chance that Stephane Dion will be prime minister in the next few weeks. Yup, you read that right...but didn't Canada just elect Stevie Boy?

Last week the Conservatives presented their annual fiscal update to open the new session of parliament. There were a few highly controversial pieces:
- prevent public servants' right to strike.

- eliminate the annual $1.95 per vote "subsidy" that all political parties get based on the last election's results, which costs a whopping 26M annually. This is a very dastardly move as the Conservatives by far have the biggest financial "war chest" - scrapping this funding would hurt the Liberals and NDP and would seriously cripple the Green party.

- lacked any significant fiscal stimulus, even though the Conversatives have changed their tune from a few months back and are now saying we're in a serious economic downturn, are almost definitely in recession and are likely to run a deficit, and at recent G20 meetings promised to provide stimulus. (Anyone else remember Harper's claim that "we already built the Ark to weather the economic storm" during the election campaign a mere two months ago?")

Needless to say the NDP in particular didn't take too kindly to these plans. The Liberals, NDP and Bloc have forged an agreement for form a coalition government, and in all likelihood will bring down the government next week with a vote of non-confidence. Typically when there's a vote of non-confidence, the prime minister asks the governor general to call an election.

And that's where things get interesting...because we just HAD an election, more likely than not, the GG would have to agree to let the Liberals / NDP form the government...and Stephane is the most likely candidate for PM.

Whoda thunkit. Boy, if this happens, Stevie Boy will be one pissed off schnauser.

Labels: ,


Comments:
I laughed too hard when I read this. Doesn't this just make all us Nepeanites proud?

Pierre Poilievre, Harper's parliamentary secretary, told CTV the transcript shows there were "members of the NDP who were working with the separatists who want to destroy Canada in order to take control of the country in a perilous coalition."

If that's not some good fear mongering I don't know what is!
 
i'm all for destroying Canada if it draws out some real leadership. ugh but it likely won't.

my terribly intellectual conclusion: canadian politics suck.
 
Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?